House

House
Rosemary Drive

Friday, July 14, 2006

Friday and the 'bog' not complete yet. Have to scrape off all the old paint from the shower as it's already peeling and will not be a good base for the new paint. I think it is damp in there and the paint was damp when it was last put on (umpty, ump years ago). What a job and I will have to take it down to the concrete. It will be a proper job when I'm done though and that's important. Nothing done on the trailer but did have three estimates to repair the roof. The first was out of sight at $3,550 but that did include a roof over and a bit tacked on to the end of the Florida room. We were going to put in a laundry room there but may leave that until the end and add it later, don't know for sure. The second and third were the same at about $2,400 or there abouts. They would put on a polimer cover and seal it. They guarantee it for 7 to 10 years. We went to Home Depot and found the stuff you roll on which is actually like a heavy tar roll. It is rolled out and then sealed with a blow torch along the seam to make it cover the roof. We have decided to do that ourselves. Steve here has the heavy duty blow torch and when we have fixed the boards inside the ceiling we can put that stuff on the outside. The trailer has a metal roof with a fibreglass cap on it. The guy said it was a really good trailer in its day and the fibreglass is great protection. We will put the tar stuff over the top of that. The cost should be about $1,000 to $1,100 only. Home Depot says that roof will last 10 or more years. The roof that's on it now has lasted since 1962 so I am sure we can live with the next one for a long time. Got to get it done soon too as it is getting a bit cramped in the motor home finally but we will put up with it another few weeks. I hope we can get the mobile home done by the middle of August as I want to go to Canada for a couple of weeks and reestablish residency there.

Sunday, July 09, 2006

Today is the final of the World Cup Soccer match between Italy and France. I am hoping Italy wins although is doesn't really matter who wins. I am just glad that it is an European team that will win. So far the score is even, 1 to 1. It is a great game and so much more interesting to watch than American football. Also, it isn't as long and I think the players are much better athletes. It's the grunting that puts me off American football and why they have to wear all that gear when they spend most of the time in a huddle or just running up and down the field. Oh well, it's a matter of preference I suppose.